Book Review: Ripped by Katy Evans (Real, #5)

Ripped - Evans

Ripped

By Katy Evans

Series: Real, Book #5

My Rating: 5 Stars

Wow!!!  Best book of the Real series thus far!  Three cheers for Katy Evans for bringing me some of the most swoon-worthy and complicated male characters that I’ve ever encountered. This book was every single thing you hope for in a romance book.  Katy Evans has broken the mold with this steamy story.  Mackenna and Pandora sizzle in every way imaginable.  I liked all the other books.  I’d even go so far as saying I more than liked Real and  Mine but Ripped absolutely blew me away.  I practically inhaled this book.  I simply couldn’t put it down.  If you are a big romance fan and haven’t checked out this series yet, I highly recommend it.  These are now simple love stories.  They are full of complicated characters with pasts that haunt and torment, who struggle for peace when everything seems to be working against them.

Synopsis

Pandora had her heart broken once by her ex, Mackenna Jones.  But never again.  He’s been gone from her life for six years.  In those six years she hasn’t been able to find the closure she desperately needs.  Now that he’s back she’s going to get that closure if it’s the last thing she does.  She’s going to let him know exactly what he did to her when he left.  It’s time for her to exact some revenge for all the pain he caused.

Mackenna Jones was once just a boy from the wrong side of the tracks.  Someone, people thought, who was destined to follow in his father’s drug dealing footsteps.  But Mackenna was determined to prove them all wrong and nothing was going to stop him.  Six years have gone by and now he’s back in Seattle, the city he grew up in, and he’s not just a bad-boy from the wrong side of the tracks anymore.  He’s the lead singer in the wildly popular band Crack Bikini.  To give him a chance of making something of himself, he walked away from the girl that he loved and now that she’s thrown herself back into his life he’s determined to never let her go.  But his determination to make her stay may not be as strong as her determination to never let him close to her again.  Convincing Pandora to give their love another chance will be the biggest battle of his life.

My Thoughts

This was the best book of this series so far.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved Remy and Greyson but there is something about Mackenna Jones that made my toes curl.  Can you say HOT with a capital H?  Because that’s the only way to describe him.  At first when he appears in the book I wasn’t sure if I was going to like him.  He seemed to be full of so much anger but as the book went on, I came to see that he just really loved pushing Pandora’s buttons.  And she made it so easy for him.  Their chemistry is undeniable.  Pandora isn’t your normal lead female character.  She’s never had a good role model on how to love.  And you can’t help but feel for her because it’s caused so much pain in her life.  Learning to forgive and being able to openly express her love are her biggest challenges.  I loved watching her overcome them and find true happiness.

As Pandora and Mackenna are forced back together and they begin to work through their issues you can’t help but get swept up in the emotion.  But it’s also hilariously funny as they dig at each other over and over.  They know how to push each other’s buttons and punish like no one else.  The saying, “you always hurt the ones you love the most” definitely applies to them.  It’s obvious from the start that their pasts hold secrets that will eventually be revealed.   The buildup to the release of those secrets is subtle but palpable and definitely keeps the reader engaged.

Overall, an excellent read.  I always like it when I can’t seem to put a book down.  When I am so engrossed in it that I forget about life itself while I sprint for the end.  It’s been a while since a book has done that for me.  I’m just sorry I waited so long to read this book. While this is the fifth book in this series, I should say that it’s definitely readable on it’s own.  You won’t get the background story of the other characters that pop in and out of the story, but it will still make sense.  That said, I do highly recommend the other books in this series.   As with most books that I love, I wish and hope there will be more to Kenna and Pandora’s story but I don’t think there will be.  There is a sixth book coming out in this series called Legend.  It looks to be just as scorching as the previous five.  I can’t wait to get my hands on it.  I’m sure I’ll live, eat, breath and sleep the book once I break open the cover.

Leave a Reply

