Book Review: 50 Bosses Worse Than Yours by Justin Racz

Bosses - Racz

50 Bosses Worse Than Yours

By Justin Racz

My Rating: 3 Stars

Unless you are lucky enough to be your own boss, you have to deal with  that one person who can make or break your days.  They can bring joy, happiness, excitement, pain, desperation, frustration, anger and disillusionment to your daily life.  That’s right, it’s your boss.  Love them or hate them, they aren’t going away…ever.  But have you ever considered there might be help out there for you in dealing with your boss?  Do you know what kind of boss you have?  Have you given much thought on the subject at all or do you avoid it like the plague?  My recommendation is to check out 50 Bosses Worse than Yours by Justin Racz.  Within it’s pages you are sure to stumble upon your current boss and some past ones and likely some future bosses.  Not only will this tome help you define which boss you have but it will guide you in how to deal with them too.  It could provide you some peace of mind. It could save your sanity.  It could save you from going to jail.  It could just save your life.

My Thoughts

Being that I’m currently in my 24th year of working (I know, it’s quite painful to think about), and I’ve held my fair share of jobs over the years, it’s safe to say that I’ve encountered a number of different bosses.  Sometimes more than one at the same job at the same time (that’s something this book doesn’t address, the multiple boss situation, maybe in the next book).  In reading through the pages of this little book, I was able to easily identify a number of bosses I’ve been forced to deal with over the years.  In a couple of cases, Racz, successfully defined what had previously been undefinable in my mind.  I laughed, I cried (almost), I shared with friends and family and I relived my time spent with these controllers of my life.  Some I’m happy to be done with and some I remember fondly and then there are those bosses I’ve yet to encounter.  I can only hope they aren’t some of the more unfortunate bosses listed in this book.  Keep your fingers crossed.  Regardless, I now have a handy little book to help me to navigate the waters of future bosses.  What they like, how they work, and most importantly, how to deal with them.

While this may not be the most sound advice out there regarding bosses, I highly recommend picking up this book and passing it around amongst your friends and coworkers and then have a discussion over lunch, dinner, drinks or coffee and sharing all the boss memories.  Misery after all loves company.  And if you don’t find your boss listed, the last entry is a blank page for you to create your own.  Enjoy!

On another note: if you like this book, be sure to checkout Racz’s other book: 50 Jobs Worse Than Yours, 50 Boyfriends Worse Than Yours, 50 Relatives Worse Than Yours, 50 Days Worse Than Yours, and 50 Dates Worse Thank Yours.  I’m sure you’ll be able to relate to all of them.

Leave a Reply

