Book Review: Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride (Necromancer, #1)

Necromancer - McBride

Hold Me Closer, Necromancer

By Lish McBride

Series: Necromancer, Book 1

My Rating: 5 Stars

This was my first reading experience with Lish McBride and I have to tell you I was blown away.  Hold Me Closer, Necromancer was original, hilariously funny and filled with deeply original characters.  I was hooked from page one and I didn’t want to put it down until I read the very last word.  I can’t tell you one thing that I didn’t love about this book, other than I was at the end long before I wanted to be.  It’s not your typical YA book.  It’s unpredictable which makes it stand out from other YA books.  Hold Me Closer, Necromancer is everything a YA book should be and is sure to hook you from the start.  It’s no wonder it was a 2011 William C. Morris YA Debut Award Nominee as well as a Milwaukee County Teen Book Award Nominee for 2012.

Synopsis

Sam is just your average guy.  Spending his days working in a fast food restaurant flipping burgers trying to make enough to afford his apartment.  A college dropout, it’s just him and his few friends chilling and hanging out.  When Douglas stops by for a burger Sam’s life is suddenly thrown into chaos.  Douglas is a necromancer and he doesn’t like having to share his  territory with another necromancer.  The problem is, Sam doesn’t know about his latent necromancer abilities.  Things go downhill from there.  Suddenly Sam has an undead friend and werewolf for a girlfriend (sort of) and one week to fight his way out of Douglas’s clutches if he’s going to survive.  In that time, Sam must find a way to use his latent abilities or he’s surely going to be six feet under and that just doesn’t sound very appealing.

My Thoughts

This book rocked.  I particularly loved all the humor in the book.  The sense of humors of the characters, especially Sam were what made the book.  YA books have a tendency to be over dramatic, not the case with McBride’s book.  She expertly infused a deep sense of humor in her characters but was able to balance it with the drama of the plot.  This made the characters vastly different from any other characters I’ve found in other YA books.

I also enjoyed the premise of this book.  You don’t see many books about necromancers so it made it original and different from everything else I’ve read in YA or adult fiction.  That’s not saying there weren’t elements that you see in other YA books because there are but by adding the necromancer aspect, this book had a twist that I had not encountered before and that made this book a breath of fresh air.

If you are looking for a fresh, and exciting YA read, I highly recommend Lish McBride’s Hold Me Closer, Necromancer.  You are sure to be highly entertained and will most assuredly fall in love with the characters, in particular Sam LaCroix.  Check it out!

Leave a Reply

