Book Review: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover (Maybe, #1)

Maybe Someday - Hoover

Maybe Someday

By Colleen Hoover

Series: Maybe, Book 1

My Rating: 5 Stars

Three cheers for Colleen Hoover!!!  Hip-Hip-Horray!! Hip-Hip-Horray! Hip-Hip-Horray!!!!  Colleen Hoover is one of my favorite contemporary fiction writers.  I love everything she writes.  She knows how to reach down there to the bottom of your heart and squeeze making you feel every emotion with every single one of her characters.  She’s brilliant and a must read for any new adult, contemporary romance, and contemporary fiction reader.  Maybe Someday blew me away.  I laughed, I cried, I sighed, I was angry, I was frustrated, and most of all, I was in absolute and total awe over the friendship and relationship between Sydney and Ridge.  Maybe Someday is everything a new adult and contemporary romance book should be.

Synopsis

Sydney is living the life she wants on her terms.  She has a job she enjoys, an apartment with her best friend, a loving boyfriend and she’s studying what she wants to study, not what her parents want her to study.  But her world is torn apart when she discovers her boyfriend is cheating on her with her best friend.  Now she’s homeless and lost as to where she should go and what she should do.  When her sexy neighbor, whom she has been admiring from afar every night from her balcony while she listens to him play his guitar, offers to let her stay with him she doesn’t have much of a choice.  As Sydney and Ridge become fast friends, they discover they have more in common than they ever thought possible.  Soon their friendship and their living situation becomes complicated when their feelings deepen and they struggle to keep their relationship where it should stay.  But Sydney can’t help but wonder if Maybe Someday their situation could change where they can be together.

My Thoughts

Oh. My. God.  I loved this book.  It was everything I would expect from a contemporary romance and new adult book.  Colleen Hoover has once again proven that she knows how to write breathtaking stories with complicated characters and troublesome pasts.  This book was astounding.  I can’t say enough good things about it.  I checked this book out from the library but I may have to buy it so that I can read it again because I know I’m going to want to read it again and probably soon.  I try to limit myself to reading a book only once each year so it’s a good thing that the year is almost over because I’m probably going to want to read it again very soon.

As with her Slammed series, I found this book to be completely engrossing.  I felt everything Ridge and Syndey felt.  I wanted them to be together but I understood their reluctance.  I loved how Syndey didn’t want to be made a Tori and she didn’t want Ridge to be a Hunter.  I loved the unexpected twist with Ridge’s character that I never saw coming.  I even loved Warren.  So you can guess that I’m excited to see that the next book (novella) in this series is about Warren and Bridgette.  I, however, was sad to see that there are no other books in this series planned thus far.  At least they aren’t listed on Goodreads yet.  Ms. Hoover, I need more from this series and I need it now.  Please tell me the next installment of this series is coming soon.  I suppose while I wait I can read one of the many other titles by Colleen Hoover that I have marked to read.  Sadly, I do not think it’s going to fill my need for more of Syndey and Ridge.

If you haven’t checked out this book or any of Colleen Hoover’s books, I highly recommend them.  They are absolute must reads for all contemporary romance, chick-lit, contemporary fiction, and new adult readers out there.  They are just plain amazing so you shouldn’t miss them.

Leave a Reply

