Book Review: Promised by Jodi Ellen Malpas (One Night, #1)

Promised - Malpas

Promised

By Jodi Ellen Malpas

Series: One Night, Book 1

My Rating: 5 Stars

Jodi Ellen Malpas is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.  So far, I’ve loved every single line I’ve read of hers.  I previously read her This Man series and couldn’t get enough of Jesse and Ava.  But now she has brought me Livy and M and wow, just wow.  I’m blown away by the hotness, the struggle and their story.  I don’t know how this is going to all work out by the end of this series but at the end of this book I found myself desperately wanting to know.  I’m definitely ordering the next two books in this series.  I’m just not sure I can wait until they arrive.  Promised may be one of the hottest, mind-boggling romantic thrill rides I’ve ever taken.  It was hot, sexy, deliciously addictive and completely un-put-down-able.  This is what every erotic romance should be like.

Synopsis

Livy is a young woman of 24 just trying to make her way in the world.  Having just started a new job as a waitress at a small bistro in London she’s just getting back on her feet after taking some time caring for her elderly grandmother.  When he walks up to the counter to order a coffee Livy can do nothing but drown in the deep depths of his blue eyes.  M is mysterious and appealing in every way.  It’s a warning to Livy to keep her distance but she finds herself fascinated by this overly serious man.  The feeling is mutual and M makes Livy a proposition.  He’d like to worship Livy for 24 hours.  No feeling, no commitment, just unending pleasure.  Livy knows this will only bring her heartache and pain but she finds the carefully constructed walls she has built to prevent future heartache being obliterated by this handful of a man.  He’s a walking contradiction in every way and despite his flaws Livy can’t seem to stay away from him.  But Livy knows M is keeping secrets and he guards them behind his carefully constructed facade.  Livy has to know him, she has to be in his life even if it destroys her heart.

My Thoughts

Way to go Jodi Ellen Malpas!!!  You have once again given your readers an exquisite and addicting read.  I couldn’t put this book down.  I wanted to know what was going to happen.  I wanted to see M’s world turned upside down because of Livy.  I wanted to see how Livy was going to deal with M’s personality and needs.  I wanted to know what he was up to, because, he was definitely up to something.  M had secrets I just couldn’t figure out what they were and when they were revealed at the end I was completely shocked.

The climactic ending was mind-blowing.  I was glued to my seat and had to ignore life until I read the very last line of the book.  Aside from the horrifying scene between Livy and M, the ending scene in the hotel lobby was completely unexpected though maybe it shouldn’t have been.  Based on what was revealed about M I should have guessed the connection but I didn’t.  I can’t wait to find out what happens next.  Books two and three are already out and you can bet I’ll be grabbing them immediately.  If you are big fan of romance and erotic romance this book and this series is a definite must read.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

