Book Review: Beautiful Disaster By Jamie McGuire (Beautiful, #1)

Beautiful Disaster - McGuire

Beautiful Disaster

By Jamie McGuire

Series: Beautiful, Book 1

My Rating: 5 Stars

Beautiful Disaster is the first book in Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful series.  If you are a big romance or new adult reader, you most likely know about Jamie McGuire.  If you are new to the genres, she’s a definite must read.  I’ll be honest, I’ve read Beautiful Disaster four times.  Yes, four times.  I love this book that much.  It’s just one of those books that I can come back to over and over and over and love it equally every single time.  My Mom thinks I’m strange that I reread so many books.  She says she has never reread a book in her life.  I don’t understand how reading a book over and over is any different from watching a movie over and over or listening to a song on repeat.  It’s all the same to me.  If you love something enough you will want to experience it over and over again.  That’s how I feel about Beautiful Disaster.  It’s just one of those books I can keep returning to and never get tired of it.

Synopsis

Abby Abernathy has moved as far away from her past as possible.  She has no desire for people to know how she used to be, only how she is now.  This is her fresh start.  Her new life and she wants it to stay that way.  Then, in walks Travis Moddox, Eastern University’s notorious hearth-throb known for his charm and endless one night stands.  But Abby isn’t swayed by Travis’ charm.  Abby has chosen her path and it doesn’t include a guy like Travis.  In fact, he is everything she does not want.  Not used to being blown-off, Travis, sets his sights on Abby.  He’s determined to be close to her, even if it’s just friends.  He just knows he must have her in his life.  Travis lives his life betting on and participating in underground fights.  To him, life is a  gamble, it’s what he knows and  how he survives.  So when Abby give him the blow-off, a little wager may be in order for him to get her to stay close.  If she wins he’ll be abstinent for a month.  If he wins she’ll live with him for the same amount of time in his apartment.  Neither Abby or Travis know what they are getting themselves into and neither know that the other isn’t in the habit of losing a wager, ever.

My Thoughts

I love this book.  I love everything about it.  I love the plot, I love the characters, I love the chemistry between the characters.  All of it comes together to make one of the most romantic reads I’ve ever read.  Abby can at times come off as being a little bitchy, but it’s her choice to be that way.  It’s her defense mechanism to keep Travis and his type away. Travis is reckless but deep down he’s completely full of heart.

These characters know how to drive each other crazy like none I’ve seen before.  Their relationship is very dysfunctional, I’ll admit that much. But I think that’s one of the things I enjoy so much about the book.  I like how McGuire brings two people together who probably shouldn’t be together ever and makes it work.  They work despite all the signs that they shouldn’t.

The other great thing about this book is that you don’t have to let it go too soon.  Not only do you have this book but you have Travis’ side of the story in Walking Disaster, and then you have a novella and another follow-on book about Abby’s best friend America and her relationship with Sheply Maddox, Travis’ cousin.  And if that’s not enough you can start in on the Maddox Brothers series which contains a book about each of Travis’ brothers.  Jamie McGuire just keeps giving and giving to her fans with her books when it comes to the Maddox family.  I absolutely love it.  If you read Beautiful Disaster and you love it, you’ll be jumping at the chance to read all of the other books.

Beautiful Disaster is by far one of the best new adult books out there and a definite must read for all readers of the genre.  If you haven’t read it you are missing out.  Check it out.  I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

