Book Review: Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster

Bitter - Lancaster

Bitter is the New Black

By Jen Lancaster

My Rating: 3 Stars

I should start by giving you the full title for this book: Bitter is the New Black: Confessions of a condescending, egomaniacal, self-centered smart-ass, or why you should never carry a Prada Bag to the unemployment office.  Yep, that’s it.  Interested?  You should be.  I’ve read one other book by Jen Lancaster and have almost all of her non-fiction works on my “to read” list.  Previously, I read Bright Lights, Big Ass and thought I was going to die laughing.  I expected to do the same with this book.  And while this book was funny, I couldn’t relate to a fair amount of it so I felt like some of the humor was lost on me.  Though I did still enjoy it, I didn’t find it as hilariously, laugh-out-loud funny as my last Jen Lancaster book.  But I’m not going to let that stop me from reading her other books.  She truly is a seriously hilarious person and everyone should experience at least one of her books at some point.

Synopsis

Bitter is the New Black focuses on a time of transition in Jen Lancaster’s life.  Specifically she goes from living a life-style where she had a household income of over a quarter of a million dollars to living in a ghetto apartment which she and her husband are eventually evicted from.  As you can imagine this transition isn’t going to go off without some hiccups.

My Thoughts

I continue to find Jen Lancaster to be highly entertaining and hilariously funny.  I love her quick wit and condescending nature.  She feeds my own condescending nature and allows me to feel like there is a real place for people like us in the world.

Technically classified as a memoir, it’s also going to fit squarely into the humor field.  In my opinion these make some some of best memoirs.  Who can resist a person who can laugh at their own misfortune, mistakes and nature?  I know I can’t.

I highly recommend Jen Lancaster.  If this book doesn’t interest you, check out one of her other non-fiction books.  You are sure to find something that is going to pique your interest and leave you rolling on the floor with tears falling from your eyes.  Everyone in your home will surely think you’ve lost your mind.  That’s what happened to me.

Leave a comment