Book Review: The Zen of Zombie by Scott Kenemore

Zen Zombie - Kenemore

The Zen of Zombie

By Scott Kenemore

My Rating: 3 Stars

The Zen of Zombie is a delightful little self-help book filled with quirky advice from the undead on life and making the best of what life has to offer.  What more could you ask for?  Clearly this book is supposed to be humorous but it’s actually full of sound advice that just might improve your life in ways you never expected.

My Thoughts

I’ll admit, I love all things zombies.  I watch all the TV shows and movies and read a fair amount of zombie themed books.  Knowing this, it makes sense that this book would pique my interest.  I’ll admit, I’m not generally one for self-help books but a self-help book that has zombies in it?  Yeah, I jumped at the chance to read this book. And I’m glad that I did.

As I often do with my non-fiction, I listened to the audio of this book.  And while I enjoyed listening to the book, after seeing the print version, I wish I had read it instead.  The book is filled with entertaining illustrations pertaining to the subject being covered and they are so adorable and hilarious.  Having the illustrations to go along with the book when I read it would have heightened my reading enjoyment and likely given me far more laughs than the audio did.

The book itself is broken up into two parts: The 24 Habits of Highly Effective Zombies and Your Guide to Complete Zombification in 90 days.  The first part is about, yep, you guessed it, good habits to get into.  The second part is how to get yourself to the level of zombie you wish to be.  Like I said before, while there is a plethora of humor packed into this book, you are sure to find some very useful advice within its pages.  The fact that it’s delivered from a zombie perspective makes a serious topic a bit lighter and it makes it feel less self-helpish.  It’s one of the things I really enjoyed about this book.

If you are like me and have jumped onto the zombie train and are looking for something that will give you some laughs but you’ll still be able to take something useful away from it, checkout this little book.  I definitely recommend you go out and pick up your copy of Zen of Zombie.  You’ll be on your way to becoming a highly productive and successful zombie in no time.  I know I am.  Cheers!

Leave a Reply

