Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover (Slammed #1)

Slammed - Hoover

Slammed (Slammed, #1)

By Colleen Hoover

Series: Slammed, Book 1

My Rating: 5 Stars

Wow, just…wow…that’s all I can say about this book. I sat down to read it and absolutely couldn’t put it down. And when I say I couldn’t put it down, I mean I woke up at 5:30am, decided to read a chapter or two since it was Saturday and I shouldn’t be up at 5:30am ever on a Saturday…When I finally got out of bed, I only did so because my stomach was yelling at me because it was 11am. Yeah, I started reading and literally couldn’t stop reading it. When I did get up, I only got up to make food, then while I ate at the table, I continued to read. Then when I was finished eating, I went to sit on the couch and read some more. And that is where I stayed until I finished the very last page. I haven’t had a book do that to me in a while so I was happily surprised. And you know what? I didn’t feel the least built guilty spending an entire day reading a book from start to finish. Sure I had a million other things I could have been doing but I decided that finishing this book was my number one priority. I can’t believe how long this book has sat on my “to read” shelf. I’m appalled that I waited so long.

Synopsis

After living through the sudden death of her father, eighteen-year-old Layken, moves with her mother and nine year old brother Kel, from Texas to Michigan.  Struggling to keep herself and what is left of her family together, Layken is slowly losing hope that she’ll ever find happiness again. When they arrive in Michigan, Layken meets her twenty-one-year-old neighbor Will. Within days of meeting, Layken and Will, find solace and hope in their budding relationship. For the first time, in what seems like forever, both think that happiness may be in their future. But the two are abruptly torn apart when they make a shocking discovery. The days and months to come are nothing but torment and torture while the two struggle with the feelings they have for one another but can’t express.

My Thoughts

Colleen Hoover may just be one of my new favorite authors. This book was unbelievably amazing. Hoover has an astounding ability of being able to create tormented and haunted characters that come to life in her writing.  She, quite effectively, manages to portray the struggle, pain and suffering that Lake and Will have to live through. It’s heart stopping and gut wrenching. I could, quite literally, feel their pain in the pit of my stomach. It was like I was suffering from the shock, the loss, and the circumstances of their complicated love. I hurt for them, wept for them, hoped for them, and rejoiced for them. There were times when I felt as if I couldn’t breath. It’s certainly a good thing I wasn’t out and about reading this book in a public place because people would have definitely been staring. Few books have made me cry as much as I cried while reading this. If you are looking for a real tear-jerker, then I highly recommend this book. And the great thing about this book is that it’s not the end of the line for Will and Layken. There are two more books in the series so you don’t have to give them up quite so soon. Yay!!!!

I should also mention the extensive amount of poetry that shows up in this book. So often when poetry shows up in a book it’s pithy and trite. But Hoover has included moving and effective poetry that propels the story forward and becomes it’s own character in the book. Since slam poetry is such a big part of Will and the book, it had to work and it had to work well. Hoover did a great job in this aspect. I’m also going to mention that I loved how each chapter started with an Avett Brothers song lyric excerpt. I love the Avett Brothers. Their music is awesome and I latched onto how they were incorporated in this book.

Overall, a superb read.  Definitely worth giving up an entire day to do nothing but read.  So checkout this book.  Especially if you like you like a story that’s going to move you with gut-wrenching honesty, pain and ultimately redemption for all of those involved.  Thank you Colleen Hoover for this great book. I will certainly be recommending it to others in the future.

 

Leave a Reply

