Book Review: A Terrible Love by Marata Eros (A Terrible Love, #1)

Terrible Love - Eros

A Terrible Love

By Marata Eros

Series: A Terrible Love, Book 1

My Rating: 3 Stars

Previously available only in eBook format, A Terrible Love, is a new adult book that’s full of sizzling and steamy hot romance, mystery, danger and suspense.  This was definitely a surprising find.  I thought this would be a quick read that would feel much like many of the other new adult books I’ve read in the past few years.  And while there were some similarities, I liked that this one has a few surprises that I wasn’t expecting.  If you are a big fan of A Beautiful Disaster by Jaimie McGuire, you will definitely enjoy this book as it’s the closest I can find to A Terrible Love, but they are completely different stories and the characters are vastly different.

Synopsis

Jess Mackey is living a lie.  She’s created a new life for herself and she’s determined to stay as far from her past as she can.  Having escaped from a violent and volatile past, Jess works to stay out of the spotlight because she knows she may be gone but she’s not forgotten.  However, letting go of all of the aspects of her previous life have proven to be more difficult than she anticipated.  Jess just can’t seem to let go of her love for ballet.  And being as good at it as she is, she’s knows it’s the one thing that will make her stand out and that would be dangerous.  Pushed by her best friend to tryout for a ballet group, Jess knows she’s making a big mistake but she longs to be able to dance again and to perform in front of a crowd.  Her heart is driving her to follow her dreams.  And while Jess struggles with giving up on her dreams, in walks a new dream; getting involved with the sexy, dangerous, Devin Castile, whom she just can’t stay away from.  She knows from the minute she meets him that he’s going to be trouble and that she’s never going to be able to resist him.  But while she struggles with the issues of her new life Jess’ past life is quickly catching up with her and she may not get away this time because someone from her past refuses to let her go.

My Thoughts

I actually really enjoyed this book.  I thought it was well paced and that the characters were well developed.  The plot was also intriguing and basically well put together. There were a few editing issues that I think could be cleaned up but overall, it was an extremely entertaining read.  It kept me guessing until the very end.  I wasn’t sure who to trust throughout the entire book which is always great for the reader.  I always like that type of suspense in a book and if a book can keep me guessing I’m definitely going to be happy with it.  And by the end of the book, I was sitting on the edge of my seat.  I’m definitely going to read the next book in this series.  Though it’s not a continuation of the story, rather it’s a retelling from Devin’s POV.  I know, I know, you might think, “been there, done that” but once you read the this book you’ll understand why and believe me, you will want to read it.  The second book, “A Brutal Tenderness” is out now.  So checkout this book.  It’s definitely a great, quick read and I’m sure you’ll be happy you did.

Leave a Reply

