Book Review: This Man by Jodi Ellen Malpas (This Man #1)

This Man - Malpas

This Man

By Jodi Ellen Malpas

Series: This Man, Book 1

My Rating: 4 Stars

This Man is the first book in Jodi Ellen Malpas’ This Man trilogy.  If you were a big fan of the Fifty Shades of Grey series, you are likely going to love this trilogy.  The books are all over 400 pages which means you’ll get a full novel with a well developed plot and well rounded characters.  And if you aren’t accustomed to reading romance/erotic fiction of this length don’t fear as they are quick reads and I will admit, quite entertaining.  I found myself staying up late into the night to read just one more chapter….or two or five.

Synopsis

Ava O’Shea is a young up and coming interior designer working for a small design company is London.  Though her focus is on modern design she’s hired for a design project at The Manor, a classical country estate outside of London.  Ava expects to find an uptight country Lord when she arrives for her consultation but what she finds is Jesse Ward.  The absolute opposite of everything Ava expected, Jesse, is a heartbreakingly handsome, uber confident man who is not only used to getting his way, but he knows no bounds when it comes to achieving his goals.  And right now his goal is making Ava his.  And while Ava can’t deny their powerful connection, she’s determined not to allow herself to be enveloped in all things Jesse Ward.  But Jesse is relentless in his pursuit of Ava and he won’t relent until he can call her his.

My Thoughts

Overall a great start to a series I think I’m going to really enjoy.  Total pleasure reading and would make a nice summer beach read.  I definitely think these books are comparable to E.L James’ Fifty Shades of Grey series, and Sylvia Day’s Bared to You series.  Fans of these two series will most definitely like these.  I will advise that if you felt like Christian was overwhelmingly possessive, you aren’t going to like Jesse Ward.  He takes possessive to a whole new level.  There were times when I cringed at the way he bulldozes over and through Ava and anyone standing in his way of him getting to her.  His stalker-esque actions in this book know no bounds and I’ll admit that if he wasn’t devastatingly handsome and uber-weathly his actions would be appalling, frightening and completely unforgivable.  I’ll even admit that Ava and Jesse’s relationship isn’t healthy.  But I did like reading their story.  I’m good with their dysfunctional behavior toward each other because even I understand that often relationships are dysfunctional in some way shape or form but they can still work.  I’m not condoning their actions but I get it.  I’m looking forward to reading the next book in this series .  Based on this first book, I can see myself rereading this series in the future just to relive Ava and Jesse’s stories.  I may have to go out and purchased these books so I don’t have to always check them out from the library.  If you are into the romance/erotic romance that is so popular right now, be sure and checkout this series.

 

Leave a Reply

