Book Review: Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

Complicit - Kuehn

Complicit

By Stephanie Kuehn

My Rating: 4 Stars

Are you looking for an amazing stand-alone book that YA’s will love and adults will find thrilling?  If you said yes, then look no further, Complicit is the book for you.  This book intrigued me from the minute it arrived at the library.  The cover was enough to draw me in and make me want to see what this book was about.  It’s written by Stephanie Kuehn who is The William C. Morris Award-Winning author of Charm & Strange and once again it’s a complete winner.

Synopsis

Jamie Henry has spend the last two years trying to live a normal life.  That’s when his older sister Kate was sent away for burning down a wealthy neighbors barn.  But Kate is out now and she’s coming for Jamie.  Kate wants Jamie to know the truth about their past.  A truth that she has kept hidden from both Jamie and everyone who knows them.  But it’s time for Jamie to know.  As Jamie tries to get away from Kate, their lives will spiral out of control until they reach the explosive ending that will leave you with chills.

My Thoughts

This book was explosive and frightening on a level I rarely experience when I’m reading.  To say that it gave me the heebie-jeebies is an understatement.  Not only did it keep me glued to it’s pages but it kept me wound up so tight that I wasn’t sure I could handle the suspense.  Kuehn takes the reader on a terrifying ride filled with danger, suspense and a twist you’ll never see coming.  At the end you aren’t sure what to think.  You are left without a resolution but strangely it’s absolutely satisfying.  I couldn’t put this book down and I’m betting you won’t be able to either.

I’d be interested in seeing what others thought about this book.  I think when I return it to the library I’m going to recommend it be considered for the teen book club.  I think our teens will find this to be an incredibly satisfying read and it’s going to leave them with plenty to discuss.  And the bonus, it’s short so it’s going to be a quick read and most readers will be able to finish it in one sitting.

So, what are you waiting for?  Go out and pick up with surprising find.  I guarantee you won’t be disappointed you did.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn

Leave a Reply

