Book Review: Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan

Dad Fat - Gaffigan

Dad is Fat

By Jim Gaffigan

My Rating: 3 stars

Comedian, Jim Gaffigan, brings you Dad is Fat, a humorous look at what it’s like to be the parent of five small children in New York.  Gaffigan highlights some of the unique challenges of having so many small children in such a crowded city all while living in a two bedroom apartment.

My Thoughts

I’m familiar with Jim Gaffigan and have heard some of his stand-up performances but this was the first time I had actually read any of his books.  I enjoy humor so I thought I’d give it a whirl and it came highly recommended.  Since I spent the year listening to all of my nonfiction in audiobook instead of reading it, I downloaded this book to my phone and listened away.  Sadly, this book wasn’t as funny as I had hoped it would be.  Maybe I couldn’t identify with the humor or the subject matter.  Sadly, for whatever reason, I just couldn’t connect to this book.  I will say though, that when I went to write this review, I had the print book sitting in front of me and when I flipped through the book to see if there were any pictures (Yes, I look for all the pictures in every audio I listen too.  No, I’m not five, they do actually add to the enjoyment of books, that’s why they are in there afterall…), anyways,  I did find the pictures included in the book with captions to be hilariously funny.  Maybe had I had the pictures in front of me when reading it I would have liked it more than I did.

At the end, I gave this book three stars.  It was humorous but hot hilarious in my opinion.    This won’t turn me off Gaffigan in the future, in fact his other book, Food: A love story, sounds like it might be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

