Book Review: Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken (The Darkest Minds, #2)

Never Fade - Bracken

Never Fade

By Alexandra Bracken

Series: The Darkest Minds, Book 2

My Rating: 5 Stars

Never Fade is the second book in The Darkest Minds series by Alexandra Bracken.  And wow, what a book this was.  Coming in at just over 500 pages, it’s a long read, but I still managed to inhale this book in two days.  In fact, the last hundred pages was read when I sat down for breakfast and then a cup of tea, then three more cups of tea.  I didn’t move until I was finished.  Good thing I didn’t have anywhere I needed to be because I couldn’t be pulled away from this book.

Synopsis

In her short life, Ruby has had to make unthinkable choices.  Now she must live with the consequences of those choices.  She’s embedded herself into the Children’s League, an organization that uses the gifts of children to fight the corrupt American Government.  She spends her days as “Leader” of her small group of special children, running Special Ops.  But when she’s sent on a secret Op by Cole Stewart, the brother of the boy she thought was her future, but doesn’t remember her now.  Her task is to break away from her group and seek out the elusive Liam Stewart because he has come into possession of a flash drive containing highly sensitive information about IAAN.  Information that could change everything for the thousands of children still alive and help repair the broken company.  But it will take everything in her to stay focused on the task at hand and not let her heart guide her choices. Torn between the friends she vowed to protect in the first place and the promise she made to the Children’s League, Ruby will have to prove to herself that she makes all these decisions for the right reasons and that she isn’t the monster she sees every time she looks in the mirror.

My Thoughts

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say this book was even better than the first.  How is that possible?  So rarely second books in a trilogy are better.  So often, they leave something to be desired as they tend to focus on character development and there isn’t much in the way of action or plot development.  Not the case with Never Fade.  This book is so fast paced it’s hard to keep up with it.  I thought my heart was going to beat out of my chest a couple of times while reading.  And the ending….yeah that ending was totally kick-ass.  I’m so excited about the final book in this series, I can hardly contain my myself.  If the third book is anything like the first two, I’m in for quite a ride.  In Never Fade, Bracken takes the reader on a wild ride that is sure to keep you reading far after you should have gone to sleep…be prepared.

Leave a Reply

