Book Review: Flesh and Bone by Jonathan Maberry (Benny Imura, #3)

Flesh and Bone - Maberry

Flesh & Blood

By Jonathan Maberry

Series: Benny Imura, Book 3

My Rating: 4 Stars

It was with a very heavy heart that I picked up this book.  I was so sad from the tragic events of book 2 that I wasn’t sure I could go on.  But go on I must…as do the characters in this series.  Still one of the best zombie books and series that I’ve ever read, Jonathan Maberry takes the readers on another wild ride in the Rot & Ruin.  Together with Benny, Nix, Lilah and Chong the reader sets out another dangerous adventure.

Synopsis

Benny, Nix, Lilah and Chong, set out with heavy hearts to find the mysterious plane they spotted months ago.  Their hope is that the plane signifies some existence of what used to be.  That civilization survived somewhere after First Night and that there is a future for them there. As they try to move forward, they are haunted by the past and struggle to keep their heads together so they can make it to their destination.  But life is never easy out in the Rot & Ruin.  It is an uncaring and harsh world where they will struggle until the their very last breath.  As they follow clues to the mysterious plane, they encounter a dangerous cult that is looking for new members who will be willing to take their last breath for the sake of the group.  As Benny and his friends evade this new threat, they encounter zombies who seem to have mutated into something more dangerous than ever before.  This will force them to tackle the zombies in a completely different method than previously trained.  Benny, Nix, Liliah and Chong will have to work hard and adapt everything Tom taught them in order to survive the Rot & Ruin this time.  If they survive, salvation may actually be within reach.

My Thoughts

Wow!!  Yeah these books continue to impress me.  Jonathan Maberry knows how to write about zombies, the apocalypse, and the struggles of living in a post-apocalyptic world.  Just when I think things couldn’t get more complicated, terrifying and painful, it does.  Mr. Maberry, you have to stop.  I don’t think my heart can handle anymore for these characters.  How can they continue to go on with everything that’s happened to them?  It’s amazing, shocking and inspiring.  Benny really has to step up in this book if he’s going to survive.  And I was thrilled to see Joe Ledger make an appearance in this book.  I haven’t read Maberry’s Joe Ledger series but I know about it and it’s on my “to-read” list so I’m excited to see the two series intersecting.  Seeing this character pop-up in this book makes me want to move the adult series up and see what they are all about.  I’ve heard great things, and frankly, I’d assume they are good since this series has been amazing.  There is still one more book in this series and it’s going to be a total thrill ride, I just know it.  If you haven’t read this series, you absolutely need to check it out.  It’s introspective and exciting at the same time.  You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

