Book Review: Before Jamaica Lane by Samantha Young (On Dublin Street #3)

Jamaica - Young

Before Jamaica Lane

By Samantha Young

Series: On Dublin Street, #3

My Rating: 5 Stars

Once again Samantha Young serves up a big bowl of hotness with the next book in her On Dublin Street series.  Before Jamaica Lane is my favorite of the books in this series thus far.  Nate and Olivia’s story is sexy, romantic and flirty in every way possible.  The reader is sure to be drawn into their passion from the start.  I loved this book!!!

Synopsis

Olivia has always been painfully shy around the opposite sex, which is the complete opposite of how she is with her friends.  Having moved to Scotland with her father after her mother passes away, she decides she’s had enough of this.  She’s determined to be different with men.  But she doesn’t know how to go about it.  So she turns to her friend Nate for some friendly advice and instruction in the art of seduction.  As Nate and Olivia’s lessons move forward, lines become blurred and their friendship turns into something more.  But Nate, who is a total player and commitment phobe, has a past that rears it’s ugly head leaving Olivia broken hearted when he breaks away.  When Nate realizes he’s made a huge mistake he’ll do anything he can to win back Olivia’s heart.  But it may be too late for their friendship and their love.

My Thoughts

This book was hot!!!  It was steamy!!!!  It was seductive!!!! Frankly, it was everything you want a romance book to be.  I absolutely loved it.  Of course, I could have loved it a bit more than normal because Olivia is a librarian and well, I’m a librarian.  What did I love so much about this book?  I guess I just loved how these two people, who are friends, decide to do something that you just know is a bad idea but they do it anyways.  Haven’t you ever said to yourself…Hmm this could be a bad idea…I might regret this…but then you say to yourself….or it could turn out to be a great thing, so you do it.  Yeah, I’ve done that.  And you know what?  Those decisions make the best stories.  I think that’s a big part of why I liked this book so much.  I suppose I saw a bit of myself in Olivia and therefore I had a big connection with the story.  I also loved the banter between Olivia and Nate.  When they sit down to review movies for Nate’s blog their remarks are hysterical.  They are such a great pair.  Overall, this was a great book.  Samantha Young continues to impress me with this series.  I’m definitely recommending it to everyone I know who likes to read romance and new adult.  Keep up the good work Ms. Young!!

Leave a Reply

