Book Review: Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Benny Imura, #2)

Dust Decay - Maberry

Dust and Decay

By Jonathan Maberry

Series: Benny Imura, Book 2

My Rating: 5 Stars

Dust and Decay is the second book in Johnathan Maberry’s Benny Imura young adult zombie series.  If you previously read my review of Rot & Ruin you’ll know that I absolutely loved the first book.  And yes, it’s true, I love the second book as well.  I haven’t been one for zombie books in the past but frankly, that’s not what I love about this series.  I love the unique perspective that Mayberry spins on the popular zombie series.  The depth of which Maberry goes into when creating his world is astounding.  It’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen.  He knows how to set the stage and then how to take it one step further and bring up the social issues that one might face in a post-apocalyptic zombie infested world.  I’ve never encountered a series quite like this one.  It’s dark, emotional, thrilling, suspenseful deeply moving, and thought provoking.  And then, it has zombies and some pretty kick-ass zombie hunters.  If you don’t love Tom Imura as much as I do, I’d be shocked.  He is, by far, my favorite character of these books.   Not only is he complicated and mysterious, he’s moral and deeply concerned about the welfare of those he serves and protects.  He’s just an amazing character.  Overall, this continues to be a deeply satisfying series that brings new light and meaning to the zombie genre.  Told with exquisite tenderness and thoughtfulness, Maberry takes the reader into the world of the post-zombie apocalypse like no other books have succeeded.  After reading this book, I stand behind my original suggestion, that this series will be liked by both zombie enthusiasts and non-enthusiasts.

Synopsis

Six months after Benny, Nix, Chong and Lila defeated Charlie Pink-eye and the Motor City Hammer out in the Rot and Ruin they are preparing once again, to go out to the Rot and Ruin. Engrossed in training conducted by Benny’s older zombie-hunter brother, Tom, they are hoping to find the mysterious plane they saw fly overhead.  Knowing that there isn’t any thing left for them in town, they set their sights on the Rot and Ruin.  There, they plan to track the plane in the hopes of finding something else out there for them.  But as soon as they set foot in the Ruin, nothing seems to go right.  They are attacked by savage animals, zombie hoards and are pulled into the grips of Gameland.  There they face horrors they only heard stories about.  Stories where teens were taken in the dead of night and never heard from again.  The reality is that these teens are forced to fight for their lives in zombie pits while onlookers cheer and place bets for their pleasure.  This motley crew of zombie-hunters will have to use all their skill to defeat their enemy if they are ever going to find the mysterious plane and discover what it means.

My Thoughts

This series continues to rock!  Truly an original and satisfying series.  I can’t say enough great things about these books.  I love every single last character.  These books possess a depth not many books have or can even dream of achieving.  Each character Maberry writes, is complex and tormented.  They are introspective and lost.  But somehow in eachother they find themselves and are able to grow and mature exponentially.  I just love it.  And while I know this is Benny’s story, I absolutely love Tom.  Oh Mr. Maberry, why Tom?  He’s such a wonderful character.  Why????  That’s all I can say.  I’m still reeling from the events of this book.

I’m truly excited to see what happens next.  What will this group encounter next?  Will they make it out alive?  Will they find what they are looking for?  Just so many questions.  But this is what I want in a series.  I want to have so many questions that I can’t help but move on to the next book so that I can find out.  This series is truly a gem amongst the vast number of YA series out there right now.  It’s original and the depth at which Maberry presents the ever popular zombie apocalypse is refreshing and unique that you can’t help but be drawn into this complex world.  Check it out!!

Leave a Reply

