Book Review: Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga (Jasper Dent, #3)

Blood Blood - Lyga

Blood of My Blood

By Barry Lyga

Series: Jasper Dent, Book 3

My Rating: 5 Stars

Blood of My Blood is the third and final book in Barry Lyga’s Jasper Dent series.  And wholly hell what a series.  I’ve been ranting and raving about this series since I read I Hunt Killers back in 2012.  This is one of the few series I’ve actually gone and bought the book after reading the library copy because I knew I’d be reading it again.  Yes, it’s that good.  I can’t say enough about this book and this series.  This is a whopper of an ending to an already explosive series of books.  Barry Lyga is an absolute genius with these books and this one in particular.  Five star everything when it comes to this book and this series.  And here’s a big revelation…one of the best books I’ve read this year.  Don’t miss out.

Synopsis

Jazz is locked in a storage locker and bleeding to death.  Connie has been taken by Billy Dent, the most notorious serial killer in history, and Howie lays bleeding on the floor in Jazz’s home.  Their plan isn’t going as planned but somehow they must find a way to beat Billy at his game.  But when the police find them, Jazz crosses a line that he said he’d never cross and suddenly he’s the hunted instead of the hunter.  But Jazz knows he has to get to Billy by any means possible.  He must face Billy and get the truth.  But the truth may be more disturbing than he ever imagined.  The Crow King is lurking in the shadows and is more terrifying than anything Billy Dent ever brought on the world.  Will Jazz be able to stay true to himself when he discovers the secrets Billy has been keeping, or will be become everything Billy trained him to be?

My Thoughts

WOW!!!!!  Ummmm Double WOW!!!!!!  Yeah, that’s about all I can say about this book.  To say I was blown away by this book is putting it mildly.  In fact, I believe when I finished the book I looked at my cats sitting on the floor and said “Wholly Shit Kitty!!!  What the Hell did I just read???  That book was un-f-ing believable!!!!”  This book was disturbing on so many levels.  It just kept amping up and amping up until I was saying “I can’t keep reading this.  My heart is going to stop and how am I going to explain that I had a heard attack from reading a book?”   Lyga just keeps hitting you with more and more information and truth that you just can’t believe he’s going there and then he does and then he takes it one step further and another and another and then finally you are so far down that you are certain you and all the characters in the book will never recover from the trauma. (Yeah, all my excitement really did just create that ridiculously long run-on sentence.) There is a line near the end that pretty much sums up what I’m trying to say: “Hughes first impulse was to raise his weapon to his own temple and blow his brains out because God oh God oh sweet fucking Jesus Christ, he did not want to live in this world.”  Yeah, that’s how crazy, psychotic, and twisted this book is.  It digs deep down into your soul and leaves you with creepy crawly tingles throughout your whole body.  It’s deeply emotional, disturbing, crazy, and will take you on the ride of your life.  The last page will leave you with chills and a very twisted sick smile plastered on your face.  It’s a true masterpiece of fiction.  READ THIS SERIES!!!!!   GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!

One thought on “Book Review: Blood of My Blood by Barry Lyga (Jasper Dent, #3)

  1. Pingback: 2014 Year in Review – Final Thoughts and Best Books (better late than never I suppose…) | aklibgirl

Leave a Reply

