Book Review: The Secret of Ella and Micha (The Secret, #1)

Secret - Sorensen

The Secret of Ella and Micha

By Jessica Sorensen

Series: The Secret, Book 1

My Rating: 3 Stars

The Secret of Ella and Micha is the first book in Jessica Sorensen’s The Secret series.  This is a popular series for Sorensen.  I’ve read the first two books in her “Coincidence” series.  I have loved The Coincidence series and absolutely adored the main characters in the books though I’m nowhere near finishing that series since there are currently seven books in that series.  I was eager to read this series because I heard so many great things about it from various people.  In addition, it was often recommended on book sites as something I may also enjoy.  Falling squarely in the New Adult genre it may not be for everyone, but I continue to love this genre and the books published in it.  I’m not certain what keeps drawing me back to this genre right now but I’m continuing to go with it.  A disclaimer for if you begin this series:  It’s a big commitment.  Currently there are five books in this series.  Half of the books are about Ella and Micha while the others are about Lila and Ethan.  Unfortunately for story continuity, you do have to read them in order.  I feel I should tell you this because often within the New Adult genre you can read some of the books and not the others.  Not the case with this series.  

Synopsis

Ella and Micha have been neighbors and best friends forever. There was always the possibility of more but they never got the chance. One night changed everything for them. After a night that would forever change them and their relationship, Ella couldn’t face all the pain and she fled, never to be heard from again but that hasn’t stopped Micha from looking for her. And when he finds her he’s going to remind her of the life she had, the people she had and what she left.

Ella, walked away from her life and the person she was. She has reinvented herself at school and she’s happy with the person she is now…she thinks. But then summer arrives and she has no place to go except home. There are so many problems with that but the biggest is she’ll have to face Micha. Her best friend who was on the verge of being more before everything changed.  Ella knows that if he pushes, it’ll be too easy for her to return to the person she left behind the night she left. But Ella can’t allow herself to be free and daring anymore, that’s what got her all messed up in the first place. Life has changed that and taught her hard lessons and she’s determined to remember the lessons so her past doesn’t repeat itself.  Ella is going to have to be strong and not allow Micha put cracks in the wall she has built against her past life and her knew one.  She’s a good girl now and she’s determined to stay that way.

My Thoughts

I have to admit that I had high expectations for this series. I had previously read the first two books in Sorensen’s Coincidence series and I absolutely loved them. And when I say I loved them, I mean I loved everything about them and I will most definitely read them again as I read additional books in the series. The Secret series is the first series written by Sorensen and I had seen it received great reviews from many readers. So, armed with the knowledge I had, I dove into these books expecting a great read. Sadly, the first book was only OK for me. It was perfectly acceptable and readable, but it didn’t blow me away like The Coincidence series books. The biggest problem with this book? I didn’t connect with the Ella and Micha the way I did with Callie and Kayden. I didn’t feel their pain or struggle. I’m not sure what happened. Maybe it was the wrong time to read it. Who knows. That said, it wasn’t terrible. It was a good read but not great and mind-blowing. I’ll read the rest of the series because I want to know what happens in Ella and Micha’s story and I want to see closure for them but my first impression is that I won’t reread like I do with some of my favorite new adult books.  Though perhaps I should wait and see what I think about the other books in the series.  Like many other new adult series the books in this series focus on groups of characters.  One book may be about two characters while subsequent books are about other characters and everything builds on each other or continues the story. It’s entirely possible other books in this series which are about supporting characters will appeal to me more.  We’ll have to wait and see.  What is most certain is that I will finish the series.  Series like with individual books, I often feel a need to follow-through with completion.  It’s a weird character flaw of not giving up on on things…ever…I know but it’s me and I’ve learned to live with it.

Jessica Sorensen is by far one of my favorite authors right now, so it’s a bit disappointing that I didn’t love this book. She is an exceptional writer of new adult fiction. I work in a library with a high population that falls between the ages of 18-25 and I’ve made sure that her books are on the shelf and available to them. Most people I have recommended her books too have enjoyed them. She’s so talented when it comes to creating strife for her characters in a normal sense. Her characters are often faced with struggles and hardships that would cause everyone to react in some way. They are realistic and honest. Sorensen has a unique ability to create enthralling stories centered around real. I always look forward to her new books. I hope you will too.

Leave a Reply

