Book Review: Raw by Belle Aurora

Raw - Aurora

Raw

By Belle Aurora

My Rating: 5 Stars

I don’t know where to start with talking about this book. Raw is the perfect title for it. Why? Because it leaves you feeling completely exposed and bare at the end. It can only be described as raw. I’ve tried several times to sit down and write about this book but it was just too much for me to be able to deal with. I had a difficult time starting a new book when I finished with this one because I wanted to live within the story; To see what was going to happen next. When I finished this book, I immediately went to see if this was a series because I didn’t think it was but couldn’t believe it wasn’t based on how the book ended, and I was highly disappointed when I discovered that it’s listed as a standalone book. It doesn’t end like it is, so maybe Aurora has plans to write more at a later time. I sure hope so because I loved this book and I need to know what happens to these characters. And based on what others were saying in their reviews I wasn’t alone in feeling this way.

Let me start by saying that this isn’t your typical romance novel. It’s dark, dangerous and challenging. You’ll find yourself torn between thinking this is the scariest book you’ve ever read and the most romantic book you’ve ever read. Still, today, weeks after finishing this book, I have a difficult time wrapping my head around this contradiction in how I viewed this book.

So, let me tell you all about it.  Lexi has been through so much in her life. Her childhood was less than stellar and as soon as she was able, she ran away. She eventually ended up in a home that was loving and she was able to make something of herself. As an adult, Lexi spends her days helping others that need help by being a counselor. And while she’s living her life in the light, there is a darkness in her life that follows her. He watches her, never approaching and never interacting with Lexi but she can always feel when he’s there. And strangely, Lexi doesn’t feel threatened or in danger from him. It’s quite the opposite, she feels safe and protected like never before.

Twitch, watches Lexi. He can’t stay away from her and he has plans for her. But once he gets close, things get more complicated than either of them ever planned. Twitch has a history that Lexi is unaware of and it’s going to catch up to both of them in ways they never dreamed possible. Lexi and Twitch will change each other for better and for worse and they will never be the same after. Their connection will leave everything exposed and raw. And neither of them are safe from the devastating outcome of their connection. The repercussions of their choices and their love will stay with them for the rest of their lives. Only time will tell if there is a happy ending (I hope).

Raw, was an amazing read. The contradictions of my emotions that this book left me feeling are indescribable. You know how sometimes things are so wrong they are right? Well that’s this book. That’s Lexi and Twitch. That’s the feelings you get when reading it. It’s going to leave you wanting more of everything. More story, more Lexi and most definitely, more Twitch.

Lexi and Twitch’s relationship is complicated, to say the least. It’s unhealthy but it’s not. It’s scary but romantic in it’s own strange way. It’s good, it’s bad, it’s up, it’s down. It’s complicated yet simple. Lexi’s choices are completely contradictory to everything her life is about. And maybe that’s what I loved about it. Lexi lets Twitch get away with things no one else could or ever has. It’s a real reaction to life when the contradiction is who you love. Why do we let those we love get away with things that we would never let other get away with? Why do we always hurt the ones we love the most? These are questions we all ask ourselves and rarely do we get a real answer that is justifiable or acceptable. Life doesn’t make sense and try as you might you simply aren’t able to choose who you love. You’ll let them rip you apart over and over and you’ll keep going back for more. That’s Lexi and Twitch. They aren’t good for each other and they know it, but what they have is real. It’s fierce and alive and consuming. It makes them feel alive in ways they haven’t before. Their connection is complete and consuming. And ultimately that’s why this book was so wonderful.

I’ve already recommended this book to several people and I truly hope they love it as much as I do. I’ll definitely reread Raw again. And I can’t tell you how much I hope that Aurora writes what happens next for Lexi and Twitch.

Leave a Reply

