Book Review: A Little Too Much by Lisa Desrochers (A Little Too Far, #1)

Too Far - Desrochers

A Little Too Far

By Lisa Desrochers

Series: A Little Too Far, Book 1

My Rating: 4 Stars

Lexie Banks knows she went too far. Specifically, with her stepbrother whom she has developed serious feelings for and a physical desire that she couldn’t hold back anymore. That’s why, in a moment of weakness she gave in to her desires and he reciprocated. She wanted it but now she’s trying to move past it as she starts her year abroad in Rome, Italy. Her only hope is that she can meet a hot Italian that will make her forget all about him. Then while trying to make amends and save her soul, she goes to confession and meets Alessandro Moretti, a young, and yes, very attractive deacon who is months away from becoming a priest. Lexie and Alessandro begin working on a project for children that brings them in contact with each other often. And while they work together their professional and personal relationship boundaries become more and more blurred. Lexie again feels that she’s going too far and tearing Alessandro apart while Alessandro struggles with the feelings he’s having for Lexie when he knows he shouldn’t be. Will they be able to stay away from each other like they should or will they go a little too far?

I read this book last year for the first time. It’s the first book in a three book series by Lisa Desrochers. When I saw that books two and three were out, I wanted to read this one again so the events of the book were fresh in my mind as I went into the other two books. I’ll be honest, this book sounds so risque and wrong and when I tell people about it I blush a bit when giving them the plot. But I have to say that Desrochers does an exceptional job of taking a storyline that could be handled very poorly and instead writes of real struggle and turmoil for her characters. While the story is sexy and hot, Desrochers’ characters face serious inner struggles and must face these issues head on if they are going to move on. They are all searching their souls for guidance and truth. Their struggle is what is most fascinating in this book. Desrochers presents ethical questions of right and wrong when it comes to who you love. Can you help who you love, who creates a place in your heart? Can you ignore those feelings and still be whole? And furthermore, can you kill those feelings when everything makes you believe they are wrong. And finally, if you don’t, what will people see when they look at you? What will you see when you look in the mirror?

This isn’t the first book I’ve read where I asked myself these questions while reading. And I’m certain it won’t be the last. I truly felt for these characters. I empathized with their struggle and I wanted things to work out for them, though I wasn’t sure how that was going to happen. But Desrochers is able to bring it all together in the end. Overall, this was a great read. I can see myself going back and reading this book over and over again in the future. If you like to read books that will challenge they way you are taught to think and you like a bit of romance thrown in there, then you may just enjoy this read. Give it a chance before you judge. You just may be happily surprised.

 

Leave a Reply

