Book Review: The Offering by Kimberly Derting (The Pledge, #3)

Offering - Derting

The Plege

By Kimberly Derting

Series: The Pledge, Book 3

My Rating: 4 Stars

The Offering is Kimberly Derting’s thrilling conclusion to her Pledge series. This trilogy is one of those best kept secrets in YA Literature. In fact, Kimberly Derting is an author that deserves much more credit for her books. They are all AWESOME!!! I’ve loved all of her books and always look forward to new books by her. You might ask what makes this series so awesome? Well, I’ll tell you…everything. The story is well developed as are the characters and while it has the romance that is expected in YA lit, it’s fairly light and acceptable when you realize that Charlie is one of the strongest female characters you will see in YA lit. That’s what I loved about this unique series the most.

Strong female characters can be hard to come by when it comes to YA lit and teen girls are often searching for them without even knowing. This series will give them just that and a great storyline to go with it that will keep then enthralled until the very last page of the final book.

Charlie or Queen Charlaina from the beginning of the series, has struggled to find her place in the world. But everything changes for Charlie when she becomes Queen of Ludania and must lead her impoverished country into a new age. As Charlie tries to implement changes that will bring her country back from the desolation and turmoil they suffered under the reign of Queen Sabara, Charlie struggles with the essence of the evil queen that resides in her and refuses to let Charlie go. Charlie must find a way to defeat her enemies both outside her kingdom and within herself. Will she prove that she is truly a person deserving of being Queen or will she let her people down?

Once again Kimberly Derting left me wanting more from her series in the sense that I didn’t want to say goodbye to this story or these characters. I wanted, when I finished the last page, and still want, weeks after finishing the book, another book, just to see what happens next in the lives of these characters. That’s how attached to her characters I become. I was this way with her Body Finder series and I remain this way with The Pledge series. Few authors write stories and create characters that I have a hard time letting go of when the series ends and I’ve read many, many books. I suppose I can always reread them and go on the same adventure with them over and over. That may be the only way to quench my thirst fore more from these characters. If you haven’t had the pleasure of reading any of Derting’s books, I highly recommend them, especially this series, but her Body Finder series is amazing as well. Both series are unique and equally addicting. I highly recommend The Pledge series if you like dystopian and strong female characters. The Body Finder series also boasts a strong female lead but is set in modern day with a twist. Be sure to check them both out. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed and maybe, just maybe you’ll find a new favorite author that will leave you wanting more every time.  Incidentally book 1 in Kimberly Derting’s new series The Taking is out now and ready for you to snatch up and read.  It’s already in my to read pile and will be read very soon.

Leave a Reply

