Book Review: Mine to Keep (Mine #2) By Cynthia Eden

Mine-Keep-Eden

Mine to Keep

By Cynthia Eden

My Rating: 2 Stars

Mine to Keep is the second book in Cynthia Eden’s Mine series. This book continues the story of Skye Sullivan and Trace Weston. Skye and Trace have defeated the threat against Skye and are trying to move on with their lives. Together they are planning a future together. But now Trace’s past is catching up with them. Skye doesn’t know a lot about Trace’s time while they were separated but she’s coming to realize that he has secrets. Dark secrets that are catching up with him and she’s right in the middle of them. Trace will do anything to keep Skye safe but he doesn’t want her to know the things he had to do while he was in the military and after. Unfortunately for Trace and Skye, someone wants the truth to come out and they want those responsible to pay for what they did. Once again with the help of Trace’s former partners, Noah and Drake, Trace is hunting down a threat to him, his friends and Skye and he will do anything to keep them safe, especially Skye. But will they find the threat before it’s too late?

I had high hopes for this book. As I said in my review of Mine to Take (Mine #1), I don’t typically read these types of books but was pleasantly surprised with book one which made me want to move forward with the four books currently written for the series. Unfortunately, this book left something to be desired. I didn’t feel like I gained any additional information about the characters and while we get some of the Trace’s backstory, I didn’t feel like it was developed enough to be that intriguing. This story felt forced in a way that the first book didn’t. Maybe Eden, didn’t have a whole lot to say about the characters in a second book? Maybe she was bored with this story line? I’m not sure. Something just didn’t feel quite as polished or finished as the first book did. In the end, I felt like this story sort of fizzled in the end leaving me wanting. I’ll continue with the series because I saw that the next books aren’t about Trace and Skye. Instead the series with Noah and Drake’s stories. Because Eden has chosen to take this series in this direction it makes me think more and more that this second book was a mistake to write, but sort of necessary since Eden didn’t set book 1 up with the character developments necessary to have the second book be about one of Trace’s friends. I have a feeling that Noah and Drake will be interesting to learn about.

Leave a comment