Book Review: Beautiful Surrender by Priscilla West

Surrender-West

Beautiful Surrender

By Priscilla West

My rating: 3 Stars, (2.5 for overall series)

I received this book as an ARC from Blackbird Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Beautiful Surrender is the thrilling conclusion of Priscilla West’s Surrender series. Kristen and Vincent are finding it harder to be together than they ever imagined. Sure, they knew they had challenges in that they both had pasts and their business connection could make things difficult but they never expected that they would have to work so hard for love. The question is, will it be enough to keep them together?

Kristen let Vincent into her life, despite her reservations and she’s been devastated by his actions. Vincent clearly isn’t the man she thought he was and more than ever, Kristen is convinced that they are a terrible idea. As Kristen and Vincent struggle to stay together, Kristen’s past catches up to both of them. Will they be able to weather Vincent’s troubled past and Kristen’s? They will have to find a way as the both discover something that will change everything, for better or worse.

The conclusion of this story was much better than the first two installments. Though I only gave it 3 stars, it was significantly better than the first two installments. Kristen and Vincent’s relationship is clearly complicated, and I felt that West did a much better job of defining those complications. In addition, the danger in the appearance of Kristen’s ex is apparent. Though I still think Kristen isn’t as concerned as she should be which leads me to believe she is petty, immature and has no real sense of self-preservation. Vincent has the reactions that I would expect though there still seems to be something missing. Lastly, I have to say I was very disappointed in the altercation between her ex and Vincent. I had the picture of Vincent being this big, bad boy who is all about danger. I envisioned him as being able to take care of himself but he gets his butt kicked by her ex so completely, it left me feeling like he was a wimp. It totally clashes with his back story of saving his sister and creates issues for the reader. For this type of book, he’s supposed to be her knight in shining armor…it’s the way these books are supposed to end.

Overall, I’d give the overall series 2.5 stars. It wasn’t great and I was really disappointed since I loved West’s “Wrecked” so much. I’m hoping this series is just a fluke and it isn’t an indication of how the second book in the Wrecked series will be.

Leave a Reply

