Book Review: Forbidden Surrender by Priscilla West


Forbidden Surrender

By Priscilla West

My Rating: 2 Stars

I received this book as an ARC from Blackbird Publishing via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Kristen has been assigned to the team tasked with pitching a wealth management plan to Vincent Sorensen. A self-made billionaire who likes to live on the wild side. He’s everything Kristen knows to stay away from. Kristen’s life is safe, secure and predictable. It’s what she wants as she rebuilds her life, but Vincent has other plans for her. Will Kristen be able to stay away from him for the sake of her career, her heart and her sanity?

Forbidden Surrender is the first novella in a three volume set by Priscilla West. The second, Secret Surrender, and third, Beautiful Surrender bring the story of Kristen and Vincent to a close. I’m sorry to say I was pretty disappointed by the first part of this story. Which is sad, because I loved Wrecked by West and am eagerly awaiting the next book in that series. Unfortunately this story falls a bit flat. I didn’t feel an attraction to Vincent. Yes, he was sexy and rich but other than that he fell a bit flat as a character. His past is vague in that it’s not well defined. And when it’s revealed it doesn’t seem like a big deal. Kristen’s past is a bit more detailed and it’s understandable why she lives her life the way she does. Finally, the coming together of Kristen and Vincent is very sudden. For all of Kristen’s issues, she falls for Vincent rather easily and it leaves the reader wanting a bit more resistance in order to make the story more intriguing. There is no mystery and no complication in this relationship to make it enticing. Sure Vincent is a client at the wealth management firm that Kristen works at, but they establish very early on that there aren’t any official rules against them dating. This leave the reader needing a bit more intrigue. Overall, not a great start to a story line.  I’m going to finish the series because I received all three books from Blackbird publishing but I’ll be honest that I’m not looking forward to the rest of the series.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s